There’s A Great Big Beautiful Tomorrow

I watched Disney’s new movie “Tomorrowland: A World Beyond” recently and while I left the theater a bit confused at some of the plot points (I definitely would love to watch it again, I think it’s one of those kinds of movies you understand and love the more you see) but it was indeed a thrilling adventure through different eras and dimensions!

The film really drives home the themes of taking charge of your destiny, hoping in the future, and the power of positivity which are all important truths I’ve been learning in my life as of late especially in light of our big move from Sweden to California this month!

tomorrowland (2)

My favorite part was the beginning at the 1964 World’s Fair in NY, I always love me some great mid-century modern Disney! No spoilers here, but I sure loved how they used the “It’s A Small World” attraction premiere in a very unique way for the story!

world fair 1964(2)

I also had a Disney nerd moment when the song “There’s A Great Big Beautiful Tomorrow” from the Carousel of Progress (one of the other attractions that Disney debuted at the ’64 World’s Fair) started playing and my husband looked at me with such surprise as I started singing along!

This song has always been special to me as it holds so much hope and those Sherman Brothers (who also wrote the “It’s A Small World” theme song/Mary Poppins soundtrack) sure knew how to write a catchy melody and I think the song and lyrics really set the perfect tone for the movie:

“There’s a great big beautiful tomorrow
Shining at the end of every day
There’s a great big beautiful tomorrow
And tomorrow’s just a dream away

Man has a dream and that’s the start
He follows his dream with mind and heart
And when it becomes a reality
It’s a dream come true for you and me”

tomorrowland (3)

From the moment I first saw the promotional posters for “Tomorrowland” with the fields of wheat I was instantly reminded of my namesake “Sheaves” and the blog post/photo shoot/video my husband & I did about why we call our married life adventures Tales of Sheaves inspired by chapter 126 of Psalms.

tomorrowland

It almost felt like Disney had seen our post because the ending of the move was so parallel to the feeling of hope and dreams we tried to create with our video, but again I won’t say any spoilers! I’d love if you’d like to pop on over to that post to find out more about what Sheaves means to us!

we are sheaves_wm (5)

I’m so grateful that we have this opportunity to move to the States and that we will always have Sweden as an option too, not so many are so fortunate to be able to move countries for new opportunities! I feel like we are taking charge of our destinies rather than remaining unfilled with our current situation and to try and do something about it!

we are sheaves_wm (11)

We of course have no idea what lies ahead for us and I suspect this will also be a hard journey but I hope the trade off of turning our dreams into a reality will make it all worth it! Facing the unknown can be frightening but I constantly have to choose to hope rather than despair. That’s where the movie’s theme of hoping in the future really struck a chord with me!

Continuing from that thought is the final thing I wanted to mention is how they incorporated this wise old Cherokee Indian proverb into the movie:  wolves (2)With out big move coming up also comes a lot of stress and fear and it’s really pushed me to see how if I let myself nurture those feelings it only feeds the “evil wolf” more and leads into a downward spiral that effects every area of my life so I have to choose to embrace the “good wolf” of hope and light instead.

Life can be a difficult journey so I’ve started making a conscious effort to appreciate the happy adventures in the likely event that misadventures will also happen! Choosing hope and light each day isn’t always easy and it’s normal to have moments of negative emotions but the important part is to keep believing, there’s a great big beautiful tomorrow!

Bye for now,

Lindsay of Sheaves

2 responses to “There’s A Great Big Beautiful Tomorrow

  1. just curious i have this lovely Sally dress from Spencers and I was wondering if you had anyone stop you upon entering Disneyland wearing a sally like dress?

    I am going for my birthday week and had this dress as one of my clothes to packed for my trip.

    Please let me know and I love, love, love your style

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂 Disneyland has recently re-enforced their rules about wearing costumes for adults, however the line is a bit blurred when it comes to Disneybounding/Disney inspired outfits. I wore a sally dress from Hot Topic there in October but that was before they were enforcing the rule again. I think your best bet is to keep away from it looking like a costume and more like an outfit. There are still people getting in that are in more costuming than inspired, I dont know how! I think it all depends on the workers you encounter. I hope you have a great time there for your birthday!

      Like

Leave a Reply

