My RETRO Hair TRANSFORMATION!

EEE!!! I took the plunge and cut off my long locks!!! Cutting my hair was the first step on my #ROADTORETRO which is going to be a series on my blog and YouTube channel where I take you along with me on my journey to recovery and rediscovering my style! Like I said in my vlog (below),  I know this isn’t something I can jump into because of my recent hand surgery as well as other factors like my weight gain from the surgery and that my husband and I just moving to California and are still settling in.

road to retro_haircut_thumbnail

This journey for me isn’t only about my quest to build my dream vintage/retro wardrobe, it’s more about my road to recovery. I went through a lot in the 3 years I lived in Sweden but it was an important journey for me to learn about my husband and his culture. Something I hadn’t counted on was how much I would learn about myself and see how strong I could be even if I didn’t feel like it at all. I feel very in tune with my inner self but sadly, I feel that hasn’t translated to my outer self in a very long time because of different circumstances.

My husband & I had to live very minimally in Sweden when we were going through his US visa process so we hardly acquired anything and I had to put off my desire for more vintage flair in my life. His visa process took us about a total of 2 years and during that time there just never seemed to be a point to start building my wardrobe or much of anything for that matter when constantly faced with an overseas move!

road to retro_haircut_wm (10)

But NOW, here I am writing from California, having only been here about a month now, and only 2 months into my hand surgery recovery and it finally feels like the right time to start taking the baby steps towards being able to show who I am on the INSIDE…on the OUTSIDE as well!

I’ve always been an old-fashioned kind of gal and I’m very passionate about classic movies which I have watched since as long as I can remember. I have always adored the fashion, hair, and makeup of the 1940s but being a spooky kind of gal I’ve also been draw to styles that mix gothic, rockabilly, and retro elements. I really look forward to mixing all the things that inspire me into my own personal style and feel like myself all the way around! But FIRST the haircut…

road to retro_theda bara

Having moved to a new area in California that I’m not so familiar with plus wanting to find a hair stylist that specializes in vintage hair, I turned to my trusty Yelp app and came across the The Vintage Hair Salon. I was instantly taken with the adorable website and the slogan “modern styles with a vintage feel.” I sent Lisa (owner/stylist) a text message and was so pleased to find out she had openings that week, since I felt like I couldn’t handle having this long thick hair in the California summertime any longer… ^^I was having some serious Theda Bara vibes! ^^

road to retro_haircut_wm (6)

Located in Newport Beach in the most quaint little studio, Lisa truly created a vintage hair salon where I felt like I had stepped back in time! Being a *retired* hair stylist myself, I couldn’t get enough of the vintage hair memorabilia and posters of so many of my favorite actresses from the Golden Age of Hollywood!

road to retro_haircut_wm (5)

Now let me tell you about wonderful Lisa, she gave me one of the best consultations I’ve ever had by a stylist and I could tell she was truly listening and wanted to make sure I was comfortable each step of the way. This meant a lot since even though I was ready to cut my hair it was still a bit scary for me to cut so much length off. I explained to hear about my hand situation and how I can’t jump into a vintage style that I would have to style every day and with her guidance we came to a good solution of leaving it a longer length than a true “middy” haircut, add some face framing, and fix up my fringe.

She cut it at just the right length and as someone who has cut and fussed over my own bettie bangs for years, I could tell instantly she knew what she was doing. I was so thrilled about this since it’s been really hard for me to find someone I can trust with my rounded bangs. Since Lisa only has 1 chair and the whole studio to herself I didn’t feel stressed at all and she really took the time to get to know me and we had some amazing conversations!

road to retro_haircut_wm (9)

She showed me how to style victory rolls in my hair and used her straightener to give me some curls (though that’s something I’ll have to work up to doing daily myself). I left feeling like the cutest dame in Orange County and since we were so close to the beach my sweet husband took me for lunch at Woody’s Diner where I discovered the new best thing of my life…orange cream malted milkshake!

road to retro_haircut_wm (7)

Then we decided to spend some time at the historic Balboa village and walking around the charming shops and fun zone! All and all, a wonderful day and you can see more in the vlog + blog post of our July adventures HERE!

road to retro_haircut_wm (8)

I feel like the real transformation is already starting to happen and I’m proud of myself for taking the steps towards my goals and recovery, which also includes starting to work out again which has had it’s own challenges (you never realize how many exercise moves use your wrist until you can’t do them!)

I know it will take time to lose the weight, for my hand to heal, to build my wardrobe, and practice new vintage/retro hair and makeup techniques but at least I’m on my way! I think it will be interesting to document my journey and share what I learn along the way!

I’d LOVE to have you along for the ride on my “Road To Retro”, feel free to subscribe to this blog and my YouTube channel to be notified of new posts and on Instagram where I post daily! I hope you enjoyed watching the vlog as well, where you can see my new haircut in action!

Bye For Now,

-Lindsay of Sheaves

2 responses to “My RETRO Hair TRANSFORMATION!

  1. Pingback: July Outfits | Lindsay of Sheaves

  2. Pingback: My New Retro Haircut + Style! | Lindsay of Sheaves

Leave a Reply

