New Year, New Adventure! (Dec-Feb Outfits)

It’s a new year and it’s time for me to find my new adventure! But don’t worry, I’m not abandoning Sheaves, but things are going to change around here…

december outfits_wm (2)

For the last 6 months (since moving from Sweden to CA) I’ve enjoyed making my monthly outfits posts, it was a fun way to see my style evolve and chronicle my ensembles and the different places I went. Last year was also when I started this blog and YouTube channel as a way to express more of the things I’m passionate about that weren’t exactly suited for Tales of Sheaves.

I was happy to complete my 4 seasons of lookbooks from my time in Sweden and when we moved to California I started a new venture, my #ROADTORETRO! The goal of this series was to share what I learn on my road to rediscover my style as well as my healing journey (inside and out) and my first step was to chop off my long locks! I had fun playing with my new hair and getting different looks with pieces I’ve had in my wardrobe as well as slowing adding some new thrifted ones. I was fortunate to even add a few new retro pieces from Pinup Girl Clothing that I had been wanting for a long time.

december outfits_wm (1)

Right after Halloween was over, life started changing for my husband & I. He had worked a great job during the fall but we started feeling the effects of starting over in another country. Also, we were feeling the post-Halloween/pre-Christmas depression since the holidays are always hard for us because one of us is always away from their family. Beginning of December, a dear friend of ours passed away and we were grateful to get a chance to say goodbye but it felt the beginning of our spiral down that led to us both getting sick at different times and a lot of heavy sadness…

I finally started feeling strong enough in my hand since my surgery and I start looking for work with no success thus far. Then came the new year and Jonas was also out of a job again and we really started to feel the strain between family and our financial situation.

december outfits_wm (3)

We researched jobs and apartments like crazy to realize a few very sobering facts that are working against us. Because of my surgery I can’t go back (nor did I plan to anyway) being a hairstylist yet that is all the job experience and college education I have. Jonas has been turned down by several jobs because he hasn’t lived in America long enough. We both don’t have any credit history because we traveled so much and therefore it’s impossible to find an apartment.

We reached out to friends and family which didn’t lead to anything promising. It has gotten so bad that we were just going to pack up and move out of state because the cost of living in CA is so outrageous, but I wasn’t prepared to leave my family so soon. All in all, we feel absolutely stuck at the bottom of a very deep dark hole and have no idea how we are going to crawl out.

december outfits_wm (4)

Because of all this stress, I’ve had little to no inspiration to put outfits together let alone take photos and blog about them. Besides, I was wearing the same things over and over again and realized I was failing as a fashion blogger since I had no new clothes to share. Yes, I’m all for mixing and matching your pieces to get new outfits but the harsh truth is I even ran out of those and can’t even afford to shop at my favorite thrift store, Savers, anymore…and let’s not even talk about the weight I’ve gained over the holidays and from all the strain.

december outfits_wm (6)

I’m not sharing all this for you to feel sorry for me, I’m sharing because I don’t mind being an open book and I want to be transparent. I started to blog also to share the ups and downs of my journey to bring hope to others and all though my #roadtoretro seems to have flat-lined and almost died, I believe it’s all apart of the journey!

december outfits_wm (5)

I’m a firm believer in following your dreams but staying flexible, because you never know what on your journey may lead you to a new unexpected dream that was better than you could have ever imagined. That’s what gives me hope during the darkest of times and helps me to not see my misadventures as “failures” but as all apart of the adventure!

feb 2016 outfits

So, with all that being said I’m not sure what this year holds for Sheaves because the winds of change have been blowing and I welcome the new opportunities and I’m not sure yet how that will translate to my blog and YouTube channel. However, I have been using SNAPCHAT a lot since I got a new phone which has been a great way to instantly share my experiences, feelings, joys, and the occasional foodie posts 😉 I’d love for you to join me there: lindsay.sheaves! Thank you all for the support along the way and I look forward to the new adventures ahead! Bye for now,

-Lindsay of Sheaves

december outfits (7)

Leave a Reply

