Climb Every Mountain

I couldn’t have imagined that I would become a “mountain girl” in more ways than one!

spring 2016 outfits_wm (11)

“Climb every mountain,
Ford every stream,
Follow every rainbow,
‘Till you find your dream.”

spring 2016 outfits_wm (1)

After leaving my home state of California and driving across the country on a new adventure to the East Coast, I really had no idea what was in store.

spring 2016 outfits_wm (3)

A dream of mine was coming true to work with weddings and the bed & breakfast business when my husband & I volunteered at Mountain Laurel Farm via the Workaway cultural exchange program.

spring 2016 outfits_wm (2)

We had the most glorious spring time and Easter in the mountains of North East Georgia and truly grew to love those Blue Ridge Mountains.

spring 2016 outfits_wm (6)

Waking up every day to this view was such a blessing and the perfect place to decompress and at the same time begin to learn a new career. I felt all my passions and talents come together in harmony when helping decorate weddings, planning, organizing, and even cleaning before the special events!

spring 2016 outfits_wm (5)

We met and worked with such wonderful people and it was with tears of love that we waved goodbye to our host and her family and the farm that grew to be a home away from home for us. (Click HERE to see the vlog of our move from GA-VA)

spring 2016 outfits_wm (7)

But adventure was calling our names again when we found out about an innkeeping internship in Virginia, and off we went to the Shenandoah Valley!

spring 2016 outfits_wm (9)

Harrisonburg was in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia and had such a quaint downtown area. We hardly got a chance to know this town when after 6 weeks we were pushed out of our home and jobs by some very deceptive innkeepers that took advantage of us. It was an unfortunate misadventure that we hope not to repeat and are unsure if the bed & breakfast business is for us anymore.

spring 2016 outfits_wm (10)

But you know what? There’s nothing wrong with that! I’m starting to see more and more how life is all about following your heart towards your dreams whatever shape and form they may take.

spring 2016 outfits_wm (12)

We got a crash course in innkeeping and it wasn’t what we had always dreamed of (despite the bad work environment) and that experience has helped us sharpen our focus and vision for the future!

spring 2016 outfits_wm (13)

My new mantra is #TRYEVERYTHING from Disney’s ZOOTOPIA:

“I won’t give up, no I won’t give in
Till I reach the end
And then I’ll start again
Though I’m on the lead
I wanna try everything
I wanna try even though I could fail”

To me, life is all about trial and error and learning from your mistakes, picking yourself back up, and heading toward the next dream!

spring 2016 outfits_wm (8)

I’m thankful that our adventures lately have given me a chance to spend time with my pen pal in North Carolina! (Click HERE to come under the sea with us to the Atlanta Aquarium)

spring 2016 outfits_wm (4)She has taught me the value of always looking for the silver lining of every cloudy situation. And that’s why I really feel I can call myself a mountain girl now, not only for having spent the last several months in the Blue Ridge but because I keep choosing to climb my mountains and even if my head is in the clouds, I’ll always be looking for those rainbows and silver linings.

spring 2016 outfits_wm (14) I hope you enjoyed seeing all the spring/country inspired outfits I had fun putting together. I’m not sure what direction my fashion is taking, but I’m just gonna go with it! My #ROADTORETRO may be on hold but I’ll still have fun with what I have, and now that I’m in Sweden for the summer I’m sure I’ll have even more interesting things to share. As always, thank you for coming along with me on my adventures! Bye For Now,

-Lindsay of Sheaves

Leave a Reply

