Mystic Moments With My Mum

Hello dearies! My mum came for a visit to the Northeast and it was the first time I’d seen her since we moved from California 9 months ago! It was such a joy to show her our “new home” and a few of our favorite spots in Connecticut and New York.

We were first reunited in Glastonbury, Connecticut where she was staying with a long time friend. We went for a walk and swooned over the charming colonial houses and all the gorgeous autumn leaves. mystic-november-1

A few days later Jonas & I picked her up and took her to Mystic, Connecticut! We found the perfect fika spot in the Stonington Borough at Indulge Coffee Shop! I loved showing my mom the old lighthouse museum and the stunning seaside view. I know how much she loves those things and ever since our time in Connecticut I had wanted to show her.

mystic-november-3

Β Although, we had actually been on a New England trip when I was a teen and went through Mystic but I don’t remember it much. It was so special to show her “our” favorite place and especially for her to meet our Workaway family at Brigadoon Bed & Breakfast! With whom we had a delightfully cozy dinner of Irish stew (thanks so much to our fellow Workawayer “Narnia”)

mystic-november-4

On the last day we spent together she & her friend Kim drove to New York so we could show her our where we live now! It was unreal having her see the room we are renting and walking around the town together. We had brunch at my work and even got spoiled a bit by the staff, that was so special! We went looking for the Clinton’s home, got turned away by security, and had crepes even though we were already so full…we had to have a “birthday” fika for my mom (who’s birthday is actually tomorrow)!

mystic-november-2

It’s hard living away from all of our family and I often think of all the things I want to share with them in person and it was so special to be able to show my Mother dear some of those things and especially to have made warm memories. I will hold them close to my heart and think on them when California and Sweden seem like planets away. I’ll keep believing that “The Best Is Yet To Come” and that it’s only bye for now ❀

-Lindsay of Sheaves

Save

Leave a Reply

