Christmas In New York City

Hello dearies and MERRY CHRISTMAS from New York City!!! Wow, I never thought I could be saying that but here’s a video of our adventures of our first time together into the Big Apple AND we got to meet up with my lifelong friend Olivia and her husband and his sister! We had a grand ol’ time exploring NYC on a snowy day!

It seems like most of the classic Christmas movies are set in NYC and walking around the streets from Grand Central Station towards Central Park sure did feel like walking in a movie set.

nyc-christmas-2016_wm-1 We had just gotten a fresh load of snow that very morning and it really lit up the city despite us having to dodge puddles of melted ice for most of the day, it was absolutely magical!

nyc-christmas-2016_wm-2

Central Park was definitely my favorite and I would love to go back and just wander around there for hours but as of this time I was having way too much fun catching up with my friend Olivia! I sure hope to have more adventures with her and her husband again soon, they are so adventures and I love how we used to play pretend horse adventures together as kids, went on a trip to Scotland as teens, and here we are meeting up in NYC..I love how special friendships like that take on so many different forms over the years!

nyc-christmas-2016_wm-3

We even got to experience a childhood moment together when we found the Balto statue! No one else in our group grew up with this beloved snow dog but we were gushing at the nostalgia!

nyc-christmas-2016_wm-4

As night fell we hit up Times Square! It was loaded with people but I guess that’s part of the charm though I don’t think I’d dare to be here on New Year’s Eve. There were so many crazy characters running around and people taking photos with people dressed like the statue of liberty but amongst all the crowds something else caught my eye. I spotted a young couple bundled up with blankets sitting on top of suitcases with a cardboard sign that read:

“Homeless & Cold: Hoping for a Christmas miracle”

nyc-christmas-2016_wm-5

That struck home so deeply with Jonas & I that we had to stop and give them a little gift, look them in the eyes and say that we have almost been homeless a few times this year and it always gets better if you keep believing and work hard. They couldn’t believe we stopped to even talk to them and I almost wanted to cry as I saw tiny flames of hope ignite in their eyes. I truly hope they have a Christmas miracle and I wish the same for any of you who may need one right now too! Merry Christmas & bye for now,

-Lindsay of Sheaves

Leave a Reply

